The John A. Montgomery Award

The IS3NA J. A. Montgomery award was established by IS3NA (supported by a grant from Prof. Robert Vince and the Center for Drug Design University of Minnesota) in 2006 in honor of the contributions to chemotherapy made by Dr. John A. Montgomery.

Dr. J. A. Montgomery joined the Southern Research Institute (SRI) in 1952 where he later became Senior Vice President and Director of the Kettering-Meyer Laboratory.

In 1986, Dr. J. A. Montgomery co-founded BioCryst Pharmaceuticals where he served as Senior Vice President. At BioCryst, with Charles Bugg, he pioneered the use of structure-based drug design to develop potent and specific anticancer and antiviral agents using X-ray Crystallography. The Dr. J. A. Montgomery’s pioneering approaches to applying both chemistry and biology to structure-based drug design have laid much of the foundation for present research in this field.

Dr. J. A. Montgomery’s research resulted in the publication of over 400 research papers and over 50 patents. He is co- inventor of five FDA approved anti-cancer drugs, and was a major contributor to the field of nucleoside chemistry and the design of nucleoside antimetabolite drugs.



The John A. Montgomery Award is awarded at each International Round Table to a scientist based upon the criteria listed below:

- the scientist must have demonstrated outstanding contributions in one or more area of nucleoside, antiviral, or cancer chemotherapy,
- the recipient may be a chemist or a biologist,
- recipients may be of any age, but the award is for one or more specific achievements and is not intended as a lifetime achievement award.


The award recipient receives a gift, a cash prize, and meeting expenses, and he or she presents a lecture at the International Roundtable where the award is presented. The XIV Interantaional Roundtable on Nucleosides, Nucleotides and Nucleic Acids is to be held in Stockholm on August 23-27, 2020.

2019 Application Process:

Nominations should be 500 words or fewer, and are due November 1, 2019. Nominations may be submitted directly to Dr. Piet Herdewyn, Chair of the IS3NA Award Committee, 
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nomination Deadline: November 1st, 2019 (Closed)